SIGHT: Catwalk Afros

Sonia Rykiel’s 40th Anniversary at Paris Fashion Week

Another slew of fashion week shows are going on in the world. This time in Paris and its for the Fall/Winter 2011 line….I know you are probably thinking hows it for 2011 when we just started 2010. Well that’s just how ahead fashion world plans and creates. Anyhow, the technicalities of all this can be addressed in another post on its own.

I came across this info while looking at YSL’s show photos (which were pretty interesting to say the least) but what drew me about Sonia’s show was the mention of catwalk afros. And on top of that it was noted that,

30 famous fashion designers including Jean Paul Gaultier, Christian Lacroix and Castelbajac, along with Martin Margiela, Yohji Yamamoto, Karl Lagerfeld, Vivienne Westwood, Valentino, Rodarte, Stella McCartney, Diane Von Furstenberg, Narciso Rodriguez and Michael Kor, offered their interpretations of Rykiel’s couture as a way of paying tribute to the iconic designer.

I know reading all this and seeing the images made me wish I was at the show.  Also it surprised me to see how supportive other designers are of one another and their endeavors  especially when I always imagined it being more cut throat….I think watching Devil Wears Prada one too many times was what may have gotten that idea inserted into my brain. Any who, take a look at these pictures and the video below of the show.

More Paris Fashion Week posts to come this week…stay tuned!

-Selamawit

Leave a Reply

